Channeling Eric Fischl

I have been trying to piece an image together from photos on the internet of 1950s furniture, clothing, and young girls in a seated pose. As I have no photographs of myself after the age of 9, much less any of the places I’ve lived, I have to find other ways of creating the images. Because the piece I am thinking through is fraught with emotional baggage, I don’t want to use children I know as models. But as I have been thinking about it some more, the idea of the image is gradually changing and possibly starting to take shape so that I’m starting to believe I can capture the emotional load of the original experience. I am less self-critical of my recent work in the Fairy Tale Series than I was feeling on Wednesday, which makes me feel better, not to mention more competent. But I’m still channeling Eric Fischl and trying to secure the confidence to work more transparently, and I’m still wishing for white walls and more space to work larger!

1 Response to “Channeling Eric Fischl”


  1. 1 Diane July 12, 2013 at 12:01 am

    Even without the big space and white walls, go for it! Ironically, if they are transparent the viewer may see more of himself in your paintings. Each viewer will bring his own stuff to the paintings.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 178 other followers

